Eight corn yield entries top 270 bushels per acre

Despite one of the most-challenging growing seasons ever, eight contestants in a contest sponsored by the South Dakota Corn Growers Association raised corn that yielded more than 270 bushels an acre.

For the second consecutive year, Scott McKee of Hawarden, Iowa had the highest yield in the contest at 291.82 bushels per acre on a South Dakota field near the Iowa border. State and district place winners in six categories will receive plaques.

Spring rains and flooding delayed planting throughout much of the state and prevented many fields from being planted at all. In addition, standing water, cool weather, hail and green snap took a toll on yields. Harvest was also delayed. The yield contest still drew a solid number of entries.

The South Dakota contest is held in conjunction with the National Corn Yield Contest, which is organized by the National Corn Growers Association and in its 55th year.

Here’s a list of South Dakota winners, including seed brand, hybrid and yield. For a list of district winners, visit www.sdcorn.org.

RANK/NAME/CITY                            BRAND/HYBRID                     YIELD

Conventional Non-Irrigated

  1. Dean Bosse, Elk Point               Pioneer/P1197AM                        277.61
  2. Brian Hefty, Baltic                      Hefty Seed/H5812                       274.44
  3. Ben LeBrun, Flandreau             Channel/209-51VT2PRIB            270.54

No-Till Non-Irrigated

  1. Scott McKee, Hawarden            Pioneer/P1082AM                       291.82
  2. Richard Arneson, Tulare            Dekalb/DKC44-80RIB                 217.43
  3. Garrett Masat, Redfield              Dekalb/DKC50-09RIB                 215.83

Strip, Minimum, Mulch, Ridge-Till Non-Irrigated

  1. Brennen Reid Bird, Elk Point      Channel/213-19VT2P                 277.68
  2. Brennen Reid Bird, Elk Point      Channel/213-19VT2P                 274.15
  3. Daryl Akland, Beresford              Pioneer/P1366AM                     244.88

No-Till Irrigated

  1. Jim Sheehan, Pierre                   Croplan Seed/4199VT2PRIB     168.39

Strip, Minimum, Mulch, Ridge-Till Irrigated

  1. Tyler & Jerry Poeschl, Yankton   Pioneer/P1366AM                      280.83
  2. John Yaggie, Yankton                 Pioneer/P1366AM                       277.89

Conventional Irrigated

  1. Tom & Don Logue, Volin             Pioneer/P0688AM                      257.03
  2. Kory Standy, Platte                     Dekalb/DKC63-21RIB                  239.39
  3. Adam Wiese, Flandreau             Dekalb/DKC58-34RIB                 219.37

District results:

District 1
1st 277.61 Dean Bosse Conventional Non-Irrigated
2nd 263.84 Bryce Jensen Conventional Non-Irrigated
3rd 247.81 Jim Richter Conventional Non-Irrigated
1st 291.82 Scott McKee No-Till Non-Irrigated
1st 277.68 Brennen Reid Bird Minimum-Till Non-Irrigated
2nd 274.15 Brennen Reid Bird Minimum-Till Non-Irrigated
3rd 244.88 Daryl Akland Minimum-Till Non-Irrigated
1st 280.83 Tyler and Jerry Poeschl Minimum-Till Irrigated
2nd 277.89 John Yaggie Minimum-Till Irrigated
1st 257.03 Tom & Don Logue Conventional Irrigated
District 2
1st 274.44 Brian Hefty Conventional Non-Irrigated
2nd 270.54 Ben LeBrun Conventional Non-Irrigated
3rd 258.06 Adam Wiese Conventional Non-Irrigated
1st 219.34 Adam Wiese Conventional Irrigated
District 6
1st 217.43 Richard Arneson No-Till Non-Irrigated
2nd 215.83 Garrett Masat No-Till Non-Irrigated
District 8
1st 240.02 Jason Kokes Conventional Non-Irrigated
1st 193.75 Leroy Jerke No-Till Non-Irrigated
District 9
1st 207.90 Josh Havranek Conventional Non-Irrigated
2nd 199.15 Josh Havranek Conventional Non-Irrigated
1st 168.39 Jim Sheehan No-Till Irrigated
1st 239.34 Kory Standy Conventional Irrigated