SDSU to Host Saline Soils Workshop and Field Tour

- To assist farmers dealing with salinity issues in their soils, South Dakota State University will host a Saline/Sodic Soils Workshop and Field Tour in Pierpont, South Dakota (follow the signs) on Tuesday, July 8th with registration beginning at 9:30 am.

Corn Cob Open rescheduled to July 10

- Heavy rains and the threat of more severe weather have caused the postponement of the 23rd annual Corn Cob Open golf tournament, which had been scheduled for this Thursday at Spring Creek Country Club.

SDSU tops USD in the 2nd Annual South Dakota Showdown Series

- Jacks Bested Coyotes 18-9 in Season-Long, In-State Rivalry Competition. South Dakota Corn Utilization officials announced today that South Dakota State University again will hold bragging rights another full year as winner of the “South Dakota Showdown Series”, a point-based, athletic and academic competition between the two in-state university rivals.

SD Corn Utilization Council elects officers

- The South Dakota Corn Utilization Council (SDCUC) has elected fourth-generation farmer Mark Gross of Bridgewater as president. The board of directors also elected Reno Brueggeman of Miller as vice president and Scott Sperry of Bath as secretary/treasurer. Gross, a fourth-generation farmer in Hutchinson County, has served on the Corn Utilization Council’s board of directors since […]

Showdown Series food drive to benefit Feeding South Dakota

- The annual Showdown Series challenge between the University of South Dakota and South Dakota State University continues on the basketball court and also in grocery aisles. From Saturday, Feb. 22 through Sunday, March 2, Coyote and Jackrabbit fans will deposit food in barrels at seven Hy-Vee grocery stores in Sioux Falls as well as Hy-Vee […]

SD Corn Growers elect leaders for 2014

- South Dakota Corn Growers Association (SDCGA) board members have elected Keith Alverson of Chester to serve as the organization’s president for 2014. Alverson moves up from vice president to succeed retiring president Mark Gross of Bridgewater, who will continue to serve as a director on the board. Meeting Feb. 20 in Pierre, the board of […]

Roslyn farmer elected to Corn Council board

- Farmers in northeast South Dakota have elected Ryan Wagner of Roslyn to serve on the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council’s board of directors. Wagner defeated Renee Olson of Waubay in the election and will represent the District 4 counties of Clark, Day, Grant, Marshall and Roberts. He succeeds Bill Whipple, who completed his terms on […]

Redfield farmer joins Corn Growers board

- Steve Masat, who farms southeast of Redfield, has joined the South Dakota Corn Growers Association board of directors. He will represent District 6, which includes Edmunds, Faulk, Potter and Spink counties. Masat, 51, is a fourth-generation farmer on a first-generation farm. As a high school student, he started farming with his father, Roger. Then, when […]

SD Corn Growers champion farm bill passage

- The South Dakota Corn Growers Association lauds the Senate’s passage of the American Agricultural Act of 2014. The Senate’s swift action puts the farm bill onto the president’s desk where it is likely to become law. “While this has been a long and grueling process, we are pleased to have a farm bill in place […]

SD Corn Growers applaud farm bill passage in House

- The South Dakota Corn Growers are extremely pleased with today’s passing of the farm bill through the United States House of Representatives. “We appreciate the farm bill’s swift passage in the House of Representatives and urge the Senate to do the same, ultimately putting the bill on President Obama’s desk,” said Mark Gross, president of […]