300-bushel-per-acre barrier toppled

Huron farm sets record in SD corn yield contest

The elusive 300-bushel-per-acre corn barrier has been broken.

Riverside Farms of Huron has set a South Dakota record with a corn yield above 308 bushels per acre, the top mark in a contest sponsored by the South Dakota Corn Growers Association in conjunction with the 2014 National Corn Yield Contest.

Bennett Waldner submitted the contest entry in the irrigated-ground category on behalf of Riverside Farms. South Dakota had 119 entries in four categories this year.

Corn yields have grown consistently in recent decades and 300 bushels became a contest target for South Dakota farmers. Winning yields crept closer to that elusive mark and topped 290 bushels-per-acre in recent years.

Here’s a list of winners, including seed brand, hybrid and yield.

RANK/NAME/CITY                                    BRAND                  HYBRID                                   YIELD


  1. Scott McKee, Hawarden, Iowa          Pioneer                  P1151AM                                286.81
  2. Huron Colony, Huron                        Dekalb                   DKC52-61RIB                          285.11
  3. Dean Bosse, Elk Point                     Pioneer                  P1151AM                                254.54


No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated

  1. Nathan Hoeft, Stratford                       Dekalb                     DKC48-12RIB                       261.49
  2. Swisher Inc., Groton                           Croplan                   4099SS/RIB                          244.41
  3. Swisher Inc. Groton                            Renk                       RK568VT3P                          235.05


  1. Riverside Farms, Huron                  Pioneer                    P0533AM1                            308.92
  2. Breding Farms, Chamberlain           Dekalb                     DKC62-97RIB                        279.95
  3. Breding Farms, Chamberlain           Dekalb                     DKC58-89RIB                        276.71


No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated

  1. Riverside Farms, Huron                 Pioneer                    P0533AM1                            289.19
  2. Breding Farms, Chamberlain          Dekalb                     DKC63-33RIB                        261.68
  3. Lower Brule Farms, Pukwana         Dekalb                     DKC59-90RIB                        260.25

To view the complete list of 2014 Corn Yield Contest winners in South Dakota by district and class, click on the link below.