Grain Bins


SDCGA directors appointed to state FSA committee

Posted on May 27, 2009

The South Dakota Corn Growers Association (SDCGA) looks forward to strong agricultural leadership at the State Farm Service Agency (FSA) considering U.S. Sen. Tim Johnson’s recommendation of individuals with remarkable industry foresight for five South Dakota FSA appointed positions.

Two of SDCGA’s own board directors were honored with Johnson’s nomination nod to the state FSA Committee. Gary Duffy of Oldham, S.D., and Jim Burg of Wessington Springs, S.D., each serve on the SDCGA board and have contributed to the advancement of South Dakota agriculture by their activities.

“It’s exciting when leadership of such caliber has the opportunity to collaborate on behalf of producers and the SDCGA looks forward to the vision these individuals will offer for our state’s number one industry,” said Lisa Richardson, SDCGA executive director.

State Farm Service Agencies have a number of important responsibilities that impact the success of programs in agricultural communities. They are responsible for supervising agricultural programs and keeping impacted farmers and ranchers in the state informed. Members of the committee are also entrusted with managing appeals and complaints.

“Strong FSA direction is particularly important as producers learn a new farm program and anticipate the changes coming in the industry. For those reasons, the SDCGA is pleased to see proven agricultural leadership recommended to the FSA committee,” said Richardson.

SDCGA vice president Gary Duffy farms near Oldham, SD, as part of Shamrock Farms, a family farm corporation raising corn, soybeans, wheat, cattle, and hogs. He is past president of the South Dakota Value Added Development Center. Duffy is a delegate to the U.S. Grains Council from South Dakota and also past president and director for the South Dakota Corn Utilization Council.

The other SDCGA board member appointed is Jim Burg of Wessington Springs. Burg, who became an SDCGA director in 2008 previously served as the South Dakota Public Utilities Commissioner 1987 thru 2004. He served in the South Dakota House of Representatives from 1975 to 1984 and later in the South Dakota Senate 1984 to 1986.

“Both of these individuals along with fellow appointees Larry Birgen, Joyce Jobgen and Craig Severtson, are uniquely qualified to meet the opportunities and obstacles of agriculture in South Dakota,” said Richardson.

While it is customary for the Secretary of Agriculture to ask U.S. Senators for recommendations for appointments in their state, it is ultimately the Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack’s responsibility to appoint the candidates.

News Categories

Stay Up-to-date

Subscribe to receive information that impacts South Dakota farmers.

By submitting this form, you agree to South Dakota Corn's privacy policy.

More News