Grain Bins


SDCUC elects 2009 officers, names new board directors

Posted on March 19, 2009

The South Dakota Corn Utilization Council (SDCUC) elected officers to serve the organization in 2009 during their board meeting held in Sioux Falls on March 19. The organization also officially named three new directors to the board to fill seats held by directors whose terms had been completed.

The SDCUC administers the 1-penny per bushel corn checkoff in South Dakota. The leadership and directors of the SDCUC board invests those dollars into research, market development and promotion and education to increase the profitability of all South Dakota producers.

David Fremark of Miller, S.D. was chosen to lead the organization as President. Fremark has served on the SDCUC board since 2006 and also is a member of the Public Policy Action Team for the National Corn Growers Association. Fremark has been active as the SDCUC delegate to the US Meat Export Federation.

Keith Alverson of Chester, S.D., was elected to a second term as vice president for the SDCUC. Alverson is in his third year on the SDCUC board and is active in the research committee for the organization. Alverson also serves on the NCGA Ethanol Committee.

David Gillen of White Lake, S.D., will serve the SDCUC as Chairman for 2009. Gillen joined the SDCUC board in 2007; he also previously served on the South Dakota Corn Growers Association (SDCGA) board of directors. Gillen is active on the SDCUC Research Committee.

Brian Smith of Montrose, S.D., joined the SDCUC board of directors in 2008 and was elected to the position of Secretary. Smith is active on the Research Committee for the SDCUC.

Chad Blindauer of Mitchell, S.D., was chosen as Treasurer for the SDCUC. Blindauer has served on the board since 2008. He also is a director for the SDCGA and currently serves as that organization’s Chairman. In addition to his leadership in the state, Blindauer is vice chairman of the Biotech Working Group for the NCGA.

In addition to the newly elected executive team, three new directors have joined the SDCUC board.

Andy Dupraz of Aurora, S.D., will represent District 5 for the SDCUC. Dupraz operates a diversified crop and livestock enterprise which consists of corn, soybeans, wheat, alfalfa and hay along with a registered Angus cow herd and cattle feeding operation.

Mark Gross is a fourth generation producer in Hutchinson County and will represent District 10 on the SDCUC board. Also a diversified operator, Gross raises corn, soybeans, wheat, alfalfa, grass hay and manages a cow/calf beef operation. In addition to the SDCUC, Gross is a director on the SDCGA board.

Frank Kralicek, Jr., a producer from Yankton, S.D., will represent District 1 on the SDCUC board. He is a third generation farmer with a system that includes crops of corn, soybeans and alfalfa. He also has a beef cattle operation as well as bison cows and feeders.

News Categories

Stay Up-to-date

Subscribe to receive information that impacts South Dakota farmers.

By submitting this form, you agree to South Dakota Corn's privacy policy.

More News