Grain Bins


South Dakota Corn Growers Association Welcomes New and Returning Board Members

Posted on February 10, 2023
Press Release 2 10 23
South Dakota Corn Growers Association

4712 S Technopolis Dr

Sioux Falls, SD 57106

Phone 605.334.0100

Fax 605.334.0505

For Immediate Release

Contact: Margaret Pennock

Office: 605.334.0100

Cell: 605.409.0030

Sioux Falls, SD, February 10 – The South Dakota Corn Growers Association (SDCGA) is pleased to announce that the following individuals were elected or approved to join the SDCGA board for 2023.

The following board members were elected to serve in the following offices.

President Dave Ellens, District 2

Dave and his family raise corn and soybeans in Madison. As owner of Lakeco Crop Services, he also is a third-generation Pioneer dealer.

Vice President Taylor Sumption, District 5

Taylor Sumption manages his family’s farm in partnership with his four brothers and parents in Frederick. They produce corn, soybeans, alfalfa, and oats in combination with operating a cow/calf operation and feedlot.

Secretary/Treasurer Trent Kubik, District 9

Trent and his wife Shannon, and two brothers, Troy and Bruce, started their own farm and ranch, where they operate a corn, soybean, milo, alfalfa and cow-calf operation in Hamill.

In addition, SDCGA has hired Amanda Bechen as Director of Digital Communications and Marketing and Margaret Pennock as Director of External Affairs.

As Director of Digital Communications and Marketing, Bechen leads all digital communications and marketing efforts for SD Corn. She has been in marketing for 14 years and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and a Bachelor of Science in Consumer Affairs from South Dakota State University.

Pennock leads External Communications for SD Corn as well as working closely with membership for the South Dakota Corn Growers Association. She has worked in communications for the past thirty years. Pennock holds a bachelor’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communications with an area of concentration in Marketing from Iowa State University.

About South Dakota Corn Growers Association: Farmer Led and South Dakota Focused

South Dakota corn producers formed the SDCGA membership organization in 1986 to serve as a collective voice on issues at the state and national levels.

The state is divided into nine districts for representation. SDCGA board of directors are elected by fellow South Dakota corn producers from their respective districts. In addition, at-large and industry directors are approved to sit on the board. SDCGA directors are elected at the SDCGA annual meeting in January.

SDCGA is involved with all legislative issues, yield contests and membership recruitment activities. SDCGA meets annually to pass resolutions and hold board elections.

Board officer photos available for download here:


News Categories

Stay Up-to-date

Subscribe to receive information that impacts South Dakota farmers.

By submitting this form, you agree to South Dakota Corn's privacy policy.

More News