Grain Bins


SDCUC elects officers, welcomes new board directors

Posted on March 25, 2008

The South Dakota Corn Utilization Council (SDCUC) elected officers to serve the organization in 2008 during their March board meeting held in Sioux Falls.

The SDCUC administers the 1-penny per bushel corn checkoff in South Dakota. The leadership and directors of the SDCUC board invests those dollars into research, market development and promotion and education to increase the profitability of all South Dakota producers.

Reid Jensen of Burbank, S.D., was elected as president for the SDCUC. Jensen most recently served the organization as vice president. In his 5 years on the SDCUC board, Jensen has been very active in the U.S. Grains Council, working to increase DDGS utilization worldwide. Jensen is also on the South Dakota Corn Growers Association board of directors, and just recently completed a 2-year term as the SDCGA president.

Keith Alverson of Chester, S.D., was selected as the vice president for the SDCUC. Alverson is in his second year on the SDCUC board and is active in the research committee for the organization.

David Fremark of Miller, S.D., will take the role of chairman of the board for the SDCUC, most recently having served as the organization’s treasurer. Fremark has been on the SDCUC board since 2006.

Jake Volkers of Brookings, S.D., has served the SDCUC board of directors since 2003 and was elected as secretary. Volkers has been very active in the promotion and education committee for the organization.

David Gillen of White Lake, S.D., will serve the SDCUC as treasurer for 2008. Gillen joined the SDCUC board in 2007; he also previously served on the SDCGA board.

In addition to the newly elected executive team, three new directors have joined the SDCUC board.

Chad Blindauer of Mitchell, S.D. will represent District 9 for the SDCUC. Blindauer operates a diversified farming operation and also is a board director on the SDCGA.

Brian Smith was selected to serve District 3 on the SDCUC board. Smith farms with his family near Dell Rapids, S.D.

Bill Whipple of Wilmot, S.D. will be the representative for District 7 on the SDCUC board, having been elected by his district to the post in February. He previously served as a director on the SDCGA board.

Complete individual bios and photos on each of these leaders are available online at; or by calling 605-334-0100 or email [email protected].

News Categories

Stay Up-to-date

Subscribe to receive information that impacts South Dakota farmers.

By submitting this form, you agree to South Dakota Corn's privacy policy.

More News